Ginger Anzac Slice and a Welcome

Hello! What you are reading is my very first post on my own very first blog, from which I hope many more recipes will follow! I am truly glad you are reading this and hope you have had a lovely day so far 🙂

I love baking. I first remember helping to make Gingerbread cookies at age three, and from there, things took off. When I was eight, I helped by grandfather (then in his late 70s) to bake his first cake, which I iced as a clock; he’s a watch and clock maker by trade. The years have presented many hundreds (I kid you not) of cupcakes, cookies, cakes, slices and more, and a passion for the kitchen. I assume you too may feel this way, and even if not, you are welcome here!

I am a firm believer that food (and yes, butter) is love.

And so, to my first recipe for you 🙂 This is a recipe my mother made a few years ago, and it is a fusion of two of our favourites baked goods; Anzac biscuits and Ginger Crunch. It is super easy, I promise you, and is so sneaky it could suit being a  lunchbox snack or after dinner treat and anything in between quite nicely! Give it a try, and I hope you love it as much as I do!
{Note, you can check out another recipe for ginger slice here :)}
Image,

Ginger Anzac Slice

Base:
100g butter

1 Tbsp golden syrup
1/2 cup sugar
3/4 cup coconut
3/4 cup rolled oats
3/4 cup flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 Tbsp hot water
Topping:
50g butter
1/2 cup icing sugar
2 Tbsp golden syrup
3 tsp ground ginger

Preheat the oven to 180°C and line a 20x30cm slice tin with baking paper.
Melt the butter and golden syrup together. Mix the sugar, coconut, rolled oats and flour together. Mix the baking soda and hot water together until the baking soda has dissolved. Pour the butter mixture and hot water into the well and mix until combined. Press the dough into the slice tin and bake for 20 minutes. Remove from the oven.
While the base is baking, make the ginger topping. Melt the butter and mix in the icing sugar, golden syrup and ginger until smooth. When the base has cooked, take the slice out and pour the icing on top. Leave until the icing has set. Cut into squares and store in an airtight container. Makes about 35 squares.Image

Until next time!

2 thoughts on “Ginger Anzac Slice and a Welcome

  1. Pingback: Oaty Ginger Slice | They Say Butter Is Love

  2. Pingback: Classic Ginger Slice (‘Ginger Crunch’) | They Say Butter Is Love

Write something if you like!

