Blueberry Muffins and a Catch Up

My mother is my kitchen inspiration. Upon hearing about my blogisphere adventure, she challenged me to post 100 recipes in 100 days. I couldn’t refuse the challenge. I am, however, already a little behind! I meant to post yesterday, but as we all know it does, life got in the way. I work at a Subway Restaurant, so I spent the day doing my 9am till 3pm shift, and then proceeded to have my angle of a best friend did my hair and make up for a Formal in the evening 🙂 For those of you who do not know what a Formal is, it’s the equivalent of a Prom or school Dance.

But I digress! Anyhow, I shall share with you one of the fundamental recipes of our kitchen; Blueberry muffins. My mother’s own concoction, they make one of the best breakfasts in the world and only require one bowl. Plus, blueberries are a superfood; add a pinch of cinnamon and I think you can safely say these muffins are doing you a double-superfood favour.Image

 

Blueberry Muffins

Ingredients:
3 cups flour
3 tsp baking powder
3/4 cup sugar
Pinch salt
1 egg
100g melted butter (or 1/3 cup vegetable oil)
3/4 cup (or more) any milk
1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries

Instructions:
Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius (non fan forced) and grease a 12 hole muffin pan.
Sift the dry ingredients together and mix in the sugar. Make a well in the centre. Pour in the butter (or oil) and egg, mix the two slightly together and then pour in the milk. GENTLY (we don’t want tough muffins) fold the ingredients together and when almost combined, add the blueberries. You may have to add a it more milk, it should be a cake batter like consistency. Mix again until just combined.
Spoon evenly into the muffin pan and bake for about 15 minutes, until golden and a skewer comes out clean when inserted.
Cool slightly and enjoy warm, with butter!

Makes 12. Best eaten on the day they are made.
Note: you can use any other berries you like! Maybe even chopped chocolate too, or a bit of mashed banana. This is a great  basic recipe to play with!

Image

One thought on “Blueberry Muffins and a Catch Up

  1. Pingback: Lemon, Olive Oil and Blueberry Muffins | They Say Butter Is Love

Write something if you like!

