Petit Fours (an experiment)

We all have those pieces of kitchen equipment that are barely used…. You know the ones I’m talking about. One of my best friends asked me to use her Nordic Ware petit four pan while she was away in the US (jealous!), as she had never used it before! Whilst I would have rather been in the US with her, how could I refuse an opportunity to bake?
Image
Now, this was very much an experiment. I didn’t know what recipe to use, if they cakes would hold their shape, if that would stick to the pan, what to do? I decided to risk it. I have previously make a vegan cake that was quite strong and had a good crust (not crusty though, just defined if that makes sense….), so I decided to adapt it. The picture doesn’t show, but the batter was blue when I baked it. I used some pureed berries to see if I could add some nice colour and flavour to it. I also added some lemon curd in the middle because, well, why not? I wouldn’t say that these are berry flavoured though, just lemon, as the berries did not come through. They were still great though!
Image

Even better the next day actually. At first I thought the glaze was too sweet but it soaked in and made it all delicious, and the sugary-ness went away. This recipe makes two trays full, and I had to wait quite a while before the cakes were cool enough to prize, so you make only want to make half a recipe (about 30 petit fours, depending on what tin you use). I am sure these would make great mini cupcakes too!

Lemon Petit-Fours
Ingredients:
1&1/2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
½ cup sugar
½ cup frozen berries, defrosted, or fresh berries
1 cup milk
2 tsp lemon juice
4 Tbsp oil
1 Tbsp white vinegar
½ cup lemon curd

Glaze:
1/3 cup icing sugar
Juice of half lemon

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Grease the petit four pan. Mix the dry ingredients together in a bowl. Puree the berries by passing through a sieve (you can discard or save the leftover pulp, or maybe just mix it back in). Mix together the milk, berries and juice. Pour the oil, milk mix and vinegar into the dry ingredients and stir until combined. Drop tablespoonfulls of mixture into the holes, and drop a bit of lemon curd into the middle. You don’t need to put any more batter on top, it will just sink in! Bake for 20 minutes, until a skewer comes out clean when inserted. Cool until you can prize the cakes from the holes, then repeat cooking with the rest of the batter.
Mix the glaze ingredients together and brush over the petit-fours while warm or cold. Leave to soak in and dry.
Makes about 60.Image

Have a lovely week everyone!

Write something if you like!

