Rugelach AKA how to use up failed cream cheese frosting!

You know the feeling….when something goes wrong in the otherwise calming haven that is the kitchen…… trouble in paradise. I’m sure we’ve all overbaked a cake, underbaked cookies or pastry, burnt something…. Well this time, it was cream cheese frosting that gave me grief. Having made it successfully before, and taking perhaps a too carefree approach to whipping it up, I was almost reduced to tears as it curdled and split. Beyond return 😦 Also I have used up all of the cream cheese, so that was the end of that. SO, what to do? Shove it in the fridge and sleep on it. The result?Image
I think you’ll find that these baking failures let you discover your inner baker’s initiative 🙂 I hope it does anyway! I knew that a biscuit would be the most likely answer to the problem, and I remembered seeing countless recipes for rugelach online, so put two and two together and…it actually worked!
I’ve included two recipes for the dough here; one is using my measurements, the other is for those of you who have had an unfortunate experience like me and want to resurrect some failed frosting (I feel your pain, really.).
Image

Rugelach
My dough:
100g butter
150g cream cheese
3/4 cup icing sugar
Juice and zest of one lemon
1 egg
1&1/2 cups flour
Dough using up frosting:
Whatever amount of failed frosting you have
1 to 2 eggs, depending on your judgement
Enough flour to make a dough
To fill:
Brown sugar
Chopped nuts
Raisins
Maybe some cinnamon (I forgot it!)
Instructions:
Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius and line two baking trays.
For my recipe, soften the butter and mix it with the cream cheese, icing sugar and lemon juice and zest, not worrying if it curdles. Add the egg, and then the flour bit by bit, taking it out of the electric beaters and finishing it by hand.
Using frosting: add the egg(s) and mix, then add the flour bit by bit until you have a soft but rollable dough.
Roll the dough on a floured surface into a big rectangle. Sprinkle the sugar, nuts, raisins and spices on top, and cut into isosceles triangles. Roll them up like croissants! Place them on the trays and bake for about 15 minutes, until the edges are golden and the bottom is golden too. Leave to cool. My recipe makes about 30.
(I made some with raisins and some without. I’m glad I forgot the spice and it would have clashed with the lemon flavour, but you can do what you like!)
Image

One thought on “Rugelach AKA how to use up failed cream cheese frosting!

Write something if you like!

