Apple and Cherry Friendship Cake AKA How to Use Up Sourdough Cake Starter

Yes, how cute indeed! Not the cake, she’s a hefty but loving thing; the idea. This is also referred to as Amish cake or Herman the German Cake. I don’t include a recipe for the sourdough starter, because I know for a fact that there are a number of wonderful bloggers and writers who have done wonderful jobs of describing and detailing the process. I’ll leave it to them 🙂
Image
The final stage of the starter requires you to split the dough into four amounts and use one of them for a cake, giving the others away to friends (hence ‘friendship’). Unfortunately, our batch of starter sat there for a few more days and eventually it got the point where I knew I had to use it all up somehow. For those of you who are looking to do the same, I have a recipe to help you!
Image
I am sure we are all feeling the effects of Christmas time, whether we be in the northern or southern hemispheres, so I found this cake made the cut. It’s full of fruit and spices, and is ridiculously easy. Just mix all the ingredients together and voila! Bake away! HOWEVER please do not get too hasty when unmolding the cake! I did it while mine was still warm and it almost fell apart. Not my greatest culinary moment, I admit 🙂 Still, the cake was delicious, with a nice sourdough tang (gentle, I promise), much more of a success than I had expected.

Just a few more notes!
-I am quite sure that a circle cake tin will do just fine, as that is what all the other friendship cake recipes I have seen use.
-Not cherry season? You could use tinned cherries or just leave them out. Or use other fresh or frozen berries.
-Go nuts on the spices! Adapt them to your tastes.
-This recipe uses the sourdough by weight. A bit annoying, sorry, I know! I still had enough dough for one more part to give away though.

Apple and Cherry Friendship Cake
Ingredients:
150g white sugar
300g flour
2&1/2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp cinnamon
2 eggs
150ml oil
300g sourdough starter
100ml milk
240g chopped apple
170g cherries

Instructions:
Grease a large ring tin and preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
Mix the sugar, flour, baking powder, cinnamon, eggs, oil, sourdough and milk until smooth. Mix in the apple and cherries, then pour into the tin. Bake for one hour, until a skewer comes out clean when inserted.
Cool completely in the tin, then turn out carefully and serve. Lasts a few days.

Enjoy everyone, thank you for reading!

Image

2 thoughts on “Apple and Cherry Friendship Cake AKA How to Use Up Sourdough Cake Starter

Write something if you like!

