Cinnamon and Orange plus White Chocolate ‘Piggy’ Birthday Cakes {100th Post!}

20140822_205732 20140822_205842

Here are my birthday cakes! My uncle celebrates his birthday on the same day as me, hence my ‘excuse’ for not being able to choose between two flavours 🙂 Do you share a birthday with a family member? So many people tell me that they share their birthdays with uncles!
He said that the decoration I put on the piped butter cream looks like little piggy faces, here is a close up:

20140822_205821

And here is the gorgeous crown of nut brittle on the cinnamon cake. I have a thing of giving cakes crowns because I think they look glorious. I’ve done it on my carrot cake, my blackberry-banana cake, my (square) banana-chocolate-caramel cake, also on my sunburst tarts!

20140822_205903

And this brittle is super easy to make, you just pour caramel onto the nuts and within minutes it is set and ready to go! It was a very last minute idea……

20140822_212724

These cute wee beauty was a white chocolate mud cake, with raspberry coulis filling and white chocolate buttercream.

20140822_213002

And then there is the older sister, slightly more down to earth and less superficial, and who probably has a couple of kids and is raising them in a house just outside the city, so that they can play on a swing in the summer and go swimming at the beach.
Oh, it’s a cinnamon orange cake with cream cheese frosting and filling and nut brittle.

20140822_213210

I have to admit that I didn’t BAKE them myself as I was on my way back from Wellington to Christchurch, I just iced and decorated them 🙂 I’m getting the recipes that my friends used so I will update them soon!

To make the White Chocolate ‘Piggy’ Cake:
Double this cake recipe to make two layers:

 Chelsea White Chocolate Mud Cake

Then fill the two cakes with any red/pink jam you choose.

Top with your favourite buttercream. Pipe some blobs around the edge, and decorate with candy ‘snouts’ and ‘eye’s 😉

To make a Nut Brittle Crown:
In a saucepan, gently heat 1 cup sugar in a saucepan.

On a greaseproof mat, sprinkle out some mixed nuts.

Keep heating the sugar, not stirring but swirling occasionally, until it turns to an amber coloured caramel. Pour over the nuts and leave to set.

Break up into shards and stick into the frosting on the edge of your cake!

 

20140822_205856

 

Enjoy everyone 🙂

 

One thought on “Cinnamon and Orange plus White Chocolate ‘Piggy’ Birthday Cakes {100th Post!}

  1. Pingback: Coconut, Lime and Crabapple Cake {DF and GF} | They Say Butter Is Love

Write something if you like!

